<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Domain Talk Blog &#187; ftc</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.domaintalkblog.com/tag/ftc/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.domaintalkblog.com</link>
	<description>Domains and Domain Registration</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 03 Sep 2010 03:44:14 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>Domain Name Invoice Scam Stopped by FTC</title>
		<link>http://www.domaintalkblog.com/2008/06/17/domain-name-invoice-scam-stopped-by-ftc/</link>
		<comments>http://www.domaintalkblog.com/2008/06/17/domain-name-invoice-scam-stopped-by-ftc/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 03:59:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Domain Man</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[domain scam]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ftc]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://domaintalkblog.com/?p=16</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The FTC released the following news release entitled &#8220;FTC Halts Cross Border Con Artists&#8220;. Apparently there were companies in Canada pretending to be legitimate domain name registrars and sent invoices for website address listings or annual website search engine listings. &#8230; <a href="http://www.domaintalkblog.com/2008/06/17/domain-name-invoice-scam-stopped-by-ftc/">Continue reading <span class="meta-nav">&#8594;</span></a>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The FTC released the following news release entitled &#8220;<A HREF="http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2008/06/ils.shtm" target="_new">FTC Halts Cross Border Con Artists</A>&#8220;.</p>
<p>Apparently there were companies in Canada pretending to be legitimate domain name registrars and sent invoices for website address listings or annual website search engine listings. Many were obviously confused.  They actually sent invoices giving the appearance that you already had a pre-existing relationship with them.</p>
<p>A federal district court judge in Chicago, Robert M. Dow, Jr., ordered a halt to the deceptive claims and froze the defendants’ assets held in the United States, pending trial. The FTC will seek a permanent halt to the scheme and ask the court to order redress to victimized consumers.</p>
<p>I would not be surprised if I or many of you have received the same.</p>
<div class="alignleft"><iframe src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.domaintalkblog.com%2F2008%2F06%2F17%2Fdomain-name-invoice-scam-stopped-by-ftc%2F&amp;layout=standard&amp;show_faces=true&amp;width=450&amp;action=like&amp;colorscheme=light&amp;height=60" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" style="border:none; overflow:hidden; width:450px; height:60px;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></div>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.domaintalkblog.com/2008/06/17/domain-name-invoice-scam-stopped-by-ftc/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
